Sunday, May 01, 2011

Publishing Triangle Announces Award Winners at Annual Ceremony 

Gender Outlaws Anthology Receives Special Award

We're proud to present the winners for the best LGBT books of 2010. The winners were announced last night at the 23rd annual Triangle Awards, April 28, 2011, at the New School in New York. Also listed below are the finalists for each category. 
The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction

  • WINNER! Barbara Hammer, Hammer! (Feminist Press)


  • Terry Castle, The Professor and Other Writings (HarperCollins)

  • Emma Donoghue, Inseparable: Desire Between Women in Literature (Alfred A. Knopf)

The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction

  • WINNER! Justin Spring, Secret Historian: The Life and Times of Samuel Steward (Farrar Straus Giroux)


  • R. Tripp Evans, Grant Wood (Alfred A. Knopf)

  • Wendy Moffat, A Great Unrecorded History: A New Life of E. M. Forster (Farrar Straus Giroux)

The judges for these nonfiction awards have also voted to bestow a Judges' Special Award in Nonfiction to Gender Outlaws: The Next Generation, edited by Kate Bornstein and S. Bear Bergman (Seal Press). Carol Rosenfeld, chair of the Publishing Triangle said, "The Triangle is recognizing this anthology, which celebrates gender nonconforming people in all their beauty, humanity, and complexity, with a special prize. The contributors to this book confront gender issues with such vibrant, mind-expanding style that readers are urged to question the status quo of seeing gender in binary ways."

The Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry  

  • WINNER! Jen Currin, The Inquisition Yours (Coach House Books) 


  • Elizabeth J. Colen, Money for Sunsets (Steel Toe Books)

  • Eleanor Lerman, The Sensual World Re-emerges (Sarabande Books)

The Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry

  • WINNER! Michael Walsh, The Dirt Riddles (University of Arkansas Press)


  • Paul Legault, The Madeleine Poems (Omnidawn)

  • Eric Leigh, Harm's Way (University of Arkansas Press)

The Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction

  • WINNER! Katharine Beutner, Alcestis (Soho Press)


  • Michael Alenyikov, Ivan and Misha (Triquarterly/Northwestern University Press)

  • Catherine Kirkwood, Cut Away (Arktoi Books)

The Ferro-Grumley Awards for LGBT Fiction (presented in conjunction with Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards)

  • WINNER! Michael Sledge, The More I Owe You (Counterpoint Press)


  • Daniel Black, Perfect Peace (St. Martin's Press)

  • Lucy Jane Bledsoe, Big Bang Symphony (University of Wisconsin Press)

  • Daniel Allen Cox, Krakow Melt (Arsenal Pulp Press)

  • David McConnell, The Silver Hearted (Alyson)

  • Eileen Myles, Inferno (OR Books)

  • Publishing Triangle Honors Alan Hollinghurst

    and Gay and Lesbian Review 
    Alan Hollinghurst was honored with the Bill Whitehead Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2011 Publishing Triangle Awards last night at the Tishman Auditorium of the New School at 66 West 12th Street in New York. 

    Also honored last night the Gay and Lesbian Review, which is receiving the Publishing Triangle's Leadership Award. This award is given annually to someone who is not a writer or to an organization, in recognition of his, her, or its contributions to LGBT literature.
    For more information about these awards, visit our homepage.

No comments: